Professor Donrich Thaldar

Principal Investigator
ThaldarD@ukzn.ac.za

Interests:
Data science and innovation
Genetics and genomics
Reproductive law
Bioethics

Dr Paul Ogendi

Co-investigator
Informed consent
paulogendi@gmail.com

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Data protection
Global health law
Health law
Intellectual property law

Ms Elizabeth de Stadler

Co-investigator
Informed consent
elizabeth@novcon.co.za

Interests:
Data protection

Dr Peter Munyi

Co-investigator
Individual and community rights
MunyiP@ukzn.ac.za

Interests:
Data protection
Genetics and genomics
Health law
Human biological material
Intellectual property law

Ms Devarasi Bellengère

Co-investigator
Individual and community rights
BellengereD@ukzn.ac.za

Interests:
Intellectual property law
Artificial intelligence
Data protection

Mr Banele Mhlongo

Co-investigator
Individual and community rights
MhlongoB1@ukzn.ac.za

Interests:
Data protection
Intellectual property law
Property Law

Dr Dusty-Lee Donnelly

Co-investigator
Geospatial & AI
DonnellyD@ukzn.ac.za

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Data protection

Dr Lukman Abdulrauf

Co-investigator
Cross-border data sharing
abdulrauf.la@unilorin.edu.ng

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Bioethics
Data protection
Genetics and genomics

Dr Aishatu Adaji

Co-investigator
Cross-border data sharing
aishatuadaji@gmail.com

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Data science and innovation
Data protection
Genetics and genomics
Global health law
Intellectual property law

Dr Lee Swales

Co-investigator
Cross-border data sharing
SwalesL@ukzn.ac.za

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Data science and innovation
Data protection
Intellectual property law

Mr Paul Esselaar

Honorary research fellow
Cross-border data sharing
paul@ea.law.za

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Data science and innovation
Data protection
Intellectual property law

Dr Freddy Mnyongani

Co-investigator
Africanisation
MnyonganiF@ukzn.ac.za

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Bioethics
Health law

Dr Bonginkosi Shozi

Co-investigator
Africanisation
bshozi@ucsd.edu

Interests:
Genetics and genomics
Reproductive law
Health law
Bioethics
Access to medicines

Dr Faith Kabata

Post-doctoral researcher
Genomic sovereignty
faithkabata@gmail.com

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Bioethics
Data protection
Genetics and genomics
Global health law
Human biological material Intellectual property law

Mr Claude Kamau

Doctoral researcher
Individual and community rights
kamauclaude20@gmail.com

Interests:
Bioethics
Global health law
Health law
Intellectual property law

Ms Amy Gooden

Doctoral researcher
Open Consent
amygooden12@gmail.com

Interests:
Data science and innovation
Data protection
Genetics and genomics research
Health law

Ms Aliki Edgcumbe

Doctoral researcher
Geospatial
aliki.divaris@gmail.com

Interests:
Bioethics
Data protection
Health law

Dr Irvine Sihlahla

Doctoral researcher
Artificial intelligence
irvinesihlahla@yahoo.com

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Bioethics
Global health law
Health law

Mr Meshandren Naidoo

Doctoral researcher
Artificial intelligence
mish10naidoo@gmail.com

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Bioethics
Data science and innovation
Health law
Human biological material
Intellectual property law

Mr Uyanda Maboea

Master's student
Cross-border data sharing
uyandamaboea1@gmail.com

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Data protection
Health law
Human biological material

Ms Shiniel Naidoo

Master's student
Artificial Intelligence
217008842@stu.ukzn.ac.za

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Bioethics
Data science and innovation
Data protection
Global health law

Ms Theshaya Naidoo

Master's student
Artificial Intelligence
theshaya1826@gmail.com

Interests:
Artificial intelligence
Genetics and genomics
Health law